Take the 2-minute tour ×
Tridion Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for Tridion developers and administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have been trying to analyze a issue related to error while trying to rollback a component (Details Here).

Now while trying to dig further, I was amazed to see entries in the Items table of Content Manager DB. It have two records for the same component one with latest version and another with Versionfield value as 0. Further the Modification Date of the component is also exactly same. Please refer the screen shot of the table as below:

enter image description here

Can someone explain in what scenario it could be possible to have a component version save in duplicate at exactly the same time stamp and also with Version field value as 0 so that I can dig further in the issue.

I am using Tridion R5.3.

Any help is highly appreciated.

share|improve this question
    
Is this causing an issue in anyway? Or are you just curious? Version 0 is typically the "editable" version of a component, which may be different from the last checked in version. –  Nuno Linhares Aug 22 at 12:41
    
Not sure if it is something causing a problem, I was just trying to figure the issue that I was not able to rollback this component or do undo checkout so thinking if it is an issue. –  Pankaj Gaur Aug 22 at 12:59
    
Took a quick look in my database - I have a version 0 for each item that is currently checked out. –  Nuno Linhares Aug 22 at 13:07

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Version 0 - also sometimes visible in CME URLs as tcm:1-2-3-v0 - is the editable version of an item. Each item that is currently checked-out will have a record with this version number in the database and everytime you hit Save (not Save & Close), this version will be updated.

Once you click Save & Close, a new major version will be created with the contents of the version 0.

This of course will be different when you have workflow enabled - in that case, there is still a version 0 (with the same meaning of editable version), but Save & Close will create a new minor version (x.1, x.2, etc).

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks Nuno for the nice explanation. –  Pankaj Gaur Aug 22 at 13:21

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.