4

I wanted to check with you if by "disabling" an user I am removing his ability to log on to the system. I need to revoke access temporarily to different users (or groups) and wanted to know if there is anything I should consider before doing so.

Thanks,Disabling an User

  • Yes, disabling a user will stop them from logging in. You can enable them back later on. – Nuno Linhares Jan 27 '15 at 16:01
  • How can we disable users using core service ? we have a around 1000 users.we have a requirement to disable users for a short time and enable it after some time.Could you please help me. – Rameshponna Jul 8 '17 at 13:27
4

Two things spring to mind (I'm sure there are more!):

  1. You need to be careful that by disabling users that you do not 'block' items that are going through Workflow. This may be a problem if, for example, you disable all of the users in a particular group that are needed to approve content.

  2. You may also need to keep in mind that although you have disabled a user, they may still have items in the publishing queue that we scheduled to publish at an earlier date.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    Awesome! I am also aware of "checked-out" items by those users. Thanks – Jaime Santos Alcón Jan 27 '15 at 16:15

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.