Sounds like there are two problems:
- preventing users from publishing content that shouldn't be published
- blaming the correct individuals when it happens (i.e. "Tridion forensics")
Related possibilities include link resolving or the queue automatically being purged.
Blame The Default Resolving Behavior? (aka Link Propagation)
When publishing an item, all items that use it are re-published along with any binaries the templates publish. Sometimes authors don't realize what they're (re)publishing when selecting what they think is one item.
Show Items to Publish will show these when queuing up items.
Or the Purging Configuration
The queue is regularly purged (requires login) based on the CM configuration. Authors can definitely cancel their own publish transaction (unless done by an administrator) and apparently delete old transactions.
Maybe Fix the Need to Hide?
If users are attempting to hide their publishing reuqests, consider some other options.
- If releasing the wrong content is important (e.g. financial data, sensitive content, or anything that increases liability) consider workflow and more governance.
- Use authorization to effectively hide sensitive components and pages from certain users.
- If you're okay with the occasional mistake, encourage authors to know how to quickly fix them and/or have regular reviews.
You can find a way to prevent and track having the wrong content published and if really needed, check IIS logs to check time stamps, publishing activity, and IP addresses.
If users get into significant trouble for mistakes, they may be less likely to use the CMS.