I know I can use Version History to rollback a change to a Tridion item. What if I delete that item and then want to rollback the delete? Can I do that? If so how, since the item will be gone from the CME.
I am afraid that You can not do this. If you delete any item from Tridion, it is gone forever. The only solution that I can see is that you restore this item from the Previous backups of your Content Manager database. Now if you have changed a lot of data after the delete then an alternate approach that you can follow is as below:
- Take a back up of your existing Content Manager DB
- Restore the older version of Content Manager DB which have the deleted version of the item
- Use Content Porter Tool to create an export package of this deleted Item
- Revert to the latest version of Content Manager DB by restoring the backup of your Latest Content Manager DB
- Again use the Content Porter Tool to import the package you previously created containing the deleted item