6

No. Undoing a check-out is a rather high impact action (discarding the edits made by someone else) that requires SysAdmin privileges.


6

I'm pretty sure users do not need the Workflow Management right in order to start workflow. Some things to check: Workflow settings in the context of the Publication the Bundle is created in (set Enable Workflow Process Associations in Shared Schemas and Structure Groups if you want to share the settings) If the user has at least read access in the context ...


5

Besides everything Jonathan said in his answer, I would like to clarify a bit what is the purpose of Content Porter and how it works. It is used for transferring mainly components, templates or pages to ease out the DTAP deployment. What is more important, during import/export current security model on server is applied. So in your case, you would try to ...


5

It looks like this is an error in the documentation. The Non-exportable items page lists the items that will not be included in the Content Port. This list includes: Permissions for Publications, Folders, and Structure Groups However, permissions are not ported between environments for any ‘organisational item’. This includes Categories. Therefore, I ...


5

I would imagine there would be a more general solution than this, but the one I am currently implementing is to manage publishing at the component level, rather than the page level. To this I have: Removed read access to the root for this group of publishers. Sorted the components used on pages within SG A into a folder, then given read/write access to this ...


5

Publishing to a target is a different permission from actually loading those objects, as you are doing in your code. I am sure you could send something to publish to those targets using code - because that's controlled by the same permissions that control the UI. To load the objects you need Admin rights indeed. You could use privilege elevation (available ...


5

The GUI caches some things quite aggressively, and I suspect that the list of component templates is being cached. You might even be able to create the component presentation, and save the page, as I don't think either of these actions involves reading the component template. Obviously, you have to check all your permissions very thoroughly - in particular,...


4

As Rick notes, to undo a check-out you need to be an admin, and for very good reasons. I'll assume that you have taken this on board and if necessary explained it or otherwise revisited it with your stakeholders. In the case of a checked-out component, you should generally have disciplines in place to ensure that people don't go on holiday leaving ...


4

Yes this is possible provided these Users or the group to which they belongs to have Workflow Management rights as shown - this option must be checked for specific publication for the desired user/group:


4

The first thing I'd suggest with any such performance issue is to check that you have run the relevant database maintenance scripts: sp_updatestats and the like. (You haven't said which database you are using. I'd suggest you add this information, as it is relevant.) Beyond that - if you think you have covered an undocumented breaking change (it sounds ...


4

It is non-exportable properties, see: docs


4

You could make a separate publication that inherits from this one, and there give the users the relevant rights. Then you'd have to do whatever magic was necessary on the content delivery side to get the pages to the right place. Another approach, probably better, is to use the events system. You could create an "on publish" event that checks the ...


2

I have been struggling with a similar issue when setting permissions. The example from the link provided by Dominic led me in the right direction. I finally figured out when populating the new ArrayOfAccessControlEntryData object, new AccessControlEntryData objects have to be created. This is very strange, but if populated with the existing objects from the ...


2

I have implemented the same type of feature in my project. Here are the steps that I have followed - First read the all the tasks from that workflow process. Then read the group involved in that tasks. After that from Group read the list of users. Hope this will help you.


2

Looking at the error stack trace, it seems like user authorization issue. Are you using same DAM user from the both 8.1.1 instances? If not then check the permission. Other issue could be thumbprint mismatch, you have to add thumbprint of each of the CM instance to DAM config. In your case, there should be two thumbprints, one for sandbox and one for dev. ...


2

The one obvious way would be to remove the publishing permission however doing that will also remove the permission to publish. As per your description, it seems, you just want to remove permission to remove from publishing queue however not block the publishing for the users of that group. In such a scenario, you can develop a GUI extension which will ...


1

The documentation for database server pre-requisites is available HERE. For installation and configuration of the content manager database, Tridion recommends a MTSUser. Configuration of SQL server is available HERE. I would also note that Tridion uses a database for Content Data Store (Tridion Broker) and also Experience Manager (WYSIWYG editor). ...


1

As per the above comment, if we grant Read, Write, Delete access for the required groups to the folder that permissions are inherited from, then that seems to do it, as bundle permissions are then inherited down to the workflow bundle.


1

Is there a way for this user to check-in checked out components in the 05 level without making him a system administrator Best possible way is to create a GUI extension to perform Undo Checkout which will be visible only to a specific group. You can assign this new group to the client user. Hence only this user can perform this action and also you can ...


1

This behaviour is by design. The various rights act directly on the item types they are named for. The behaviour you have seen is a bit strange, but that is caused by configuring a strange combination of rights. Usually you have Folder Management and Component Management together - the people who work with components need to be able to manipulate folders too....


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible